Logo
home presse
keramik andrew
anagama heinz
ausstellung
vita
presse
buch
kontakt
Japanese ceramics in Cismar

Jan Kollwitz, who lives in the village of Cismar in the eastern part of Holstein, has come to be known for his ceramics that are modeled on Japanese techniques.

After studying with Horst Kerstan in Kandern for three years, Jan Kollwitz became the personal student of Yutaka Nakamura in Echizen, Japan, for two years. Nakamura taught him the ancient firing methods associated with anagama kilns, as well as the traditional Echizen methods of making vessels. Equally formative for Jan Kollwitz was his friendship with the ceramicist Kazu Yamada, a pupil of Tokuro Katos.

Together, Kollwitz and Yamada initiated the plans of building an original anagama wood-burning kiln in Germany. They were able to convince the 71-year old master kiln builder Tatsuo Watanabe, from Mino, Japan, to come to Cismar in 1988, to undertake the project.

Typical for the wood-fired anagama kilns is that the fire and the process of firing takes place in one and the same chamber. The unglazed clay vessels are placed into the kiln where they are fired around the clock for four consecutive days. New wood must be added to the fire every three minutes. In 1300°C temperatures, flying ash melts onto the clay in a natural glaze, which can range in colour, depending on the position of the vessel in the kiln, from a clear green to a light, mat beige. Smoke and flames add red and grey coloration to the clay pots, and in some areas the firing even yields a deep blue.

The firing of the kilns is adjusted to Shigaraki- and Iga-techniques and is based on the experience and knowledge that Japanese ceramicists gained over four centuries in creating the kind of artistic pottery associated with the tea ceremony.

Delicate bowls for Ikebana are placed next to powerful, asymmetrical vessels. Equally impressive are the large storage jars in the Echizen tradition.

Those who introduce Japanese-style pottery into their European home will soon notice how much Japanese aesthetics share with 20th century Western modern, especially the type of clear forms that Jan Kollwitz also favours.

The gallery in the old parish house in Cismar is open almost everyday; it is recommended to call ahead.

Download this text as a pdf file.

Logo
home presse
keramik dlr
anagama heinz
ausstellung dlf
vita dlf
presse
buch
kontakt
Japanische Keramik in Cismar

In dem ostholsteinischen Klosterdorf Cismar lebt und arbeitet Jan Kollwitz, der Keramiken in traditioneller japanischer Technik herstellt.

Nach einer dreijährigen Ausbildung bei Horst Kerstan in Kandern war Jan Kollwitz zwei Jahre lang persönlicher Schüler von Yutaka Nakamura in Echizen/ Japan. Nakamura unterwies ihn in der überlieferten Brenntechnik der Anagama-Öfen und in den traditionellen Techniken der Gefäßherstellung der Echizen-Keramik. Prägend wurde auch die Freundschaft mit dem Teekeramiker Kazu Yamada, einem Schüler Tokuro Katos.

Gemeinsam mit Yamada entstand der Plan, in Deutschland einen Original-Anagama-Holzbrennofen zu bauen. Für den Bau konnte der 71-jährige Ofenbaumeister Tatsuo Watanabe aus Mino/Japan gewonnen werden, der 1988 den Anagama von Jan Kollwitz neben der Werkstatt in Cismar baute.

Typisch für den holzbefeuerten Anagama-Ofen ist, daß Brand und Feuerung in einer gemeinsamen Kammer stattfinden. Die Keramiken werden unglasiert in den Brennofen eingesetzt und dann vier Tage lang ununterbrochen gebrannt. Rund um die Uhr wird ca. alle drei Minuten Holz in den Ofen geworfen. Bei Temperaturen um 1300° Celsius verschmilzt die Flugasche mit dem Ton zu einer natürlichen Glasur, die je nach Standort des Gefäßes im Ofen von einem tiefen, klaren Grün bis zu einem hellen, matten Beige variiert. Rauch und Flammen hinterlassen rote und graue Färbungen auf den Gefäßen, an manchen Stellen im Ofen entsteht ein tiefes Blau.

Die Brennweise des Ofens wurde auf Shigaraki- und Iga-Technik abgestimmt und beruht auf Erfahrungen, die japanische Keramiker bei der Herstellung künstlerischer Gefäße, speziell für die Teezeremonie, in den letzten vierhundert Jahren gesammelt haben.

Zarte Schalen für Ikebana stehen neben kraftvollen, asymmetrischen Gefäßen, beeindruckend sind auch die großen Bodenvasen der Echizen-Tradition.

Wer einmal versucht hat, eine Keramik von so spezifisch japanischem Charakter in einer europäischen Wohnung zu benutzen, wird bald bemerken, wie sehr ihre Ästhetik sich zur westlichen Moderne des 20. Jahrhunderts fügen kann, zumal in den klaren Formen, die Jan Kollwitz bevorzugt.

Die Ausstellungsräume im Alten Pastorat in Cismar sind in der Regel täglich geöffnet; um eine telefonische Anmeldung wird gebeten.

Drucken Sie sich diesen Text als PDF aus.







Impressum | Datenschutz